Pink and Gold First Birthday Party

img_0171

A few weekends ago we had our daughter’s first birthday party. For weeks I’d been planning this thing, and having a blast brainstorming and browsing Pinterest for more ideas. I wanted to do mostly pastel pink and throw in a bit of gold here and there, and luckily that’s kind of what’s in right now for little girls’ birthday parties, so there were a TON of resources for ideas, products, etc. so I had zero trouble getting that.

There were a few things I knew for certain I wanted: a pretty backdrop behind Eden’s high chair, a tutu for her AND a tutu for her high chair, a simple cake, and a very simple yet feminine style. We wound up with all of those things and more, and with some pinning, shopping, crafting, and tons of help from my mom, we achieved exactly the perfect little girly party theme I’d imagined.

THE HIGH CHAIR TUTU

img_0288

img_0069

The high chair tutu was something I definitely never imagined using, much less making, for my daughter’s first-ever birthday party, but the more and more I saw those poofy things on Pinterest, the more and more I liked them. So I decided it couldn’t be too hard to make one, so I bought two different shades of (sparkly!) pink tule from Walmart, and cut the strips the length I needed them, then tied them to an elastic band. I used Velcro stickers (the hard side) on the sides of the high chair tray, and stuck the tule to those and the tutu stuck securely. Super simple, tons of fun, and way cute!

THE CAKE TABLE

img_0075

img_0077
For the cake setting, I used a pale pink table cloth from Walmart, and some matte white Mason jars I painted a couple years ago which wound up being perfect for holding straws (pink cake pop sticks from Walmart) and flowers (also from Walmart). Pink and white plates and white napkins came from the Dollar Tree, the white cake plate and gold cupcake liners from TJ Maxx, and gold candles from Walmart. I also printed out a black and white photo of Eden I had taken recently, and framed it in a pink frame I got at Aldi and displayed it on the cake table. While looking up “pink and gold birthday party” I came across some super cute FREE printable banners/buntings, plus a ton of other things to match (like invitations, water bottle labels, etc.) from The Paper Trail Design and was extremely please with it. I used an old window for a background and hung one banner from it and a tiny little bunting across the cake, strung to two cake pop sticks.

THE CAKE

img_0071

img_0073

img_0072
The cake was made with white cake mixes from Aldi, which I made by the box’s directions the night before the party and then froze overnight. Before pouring the batter into the pans, though, I greased some parchment paper and lined the pans in that, so the next morning when I was ready to ice the cake, they just popped right out of the pans with no effort and NO sticking. That fluffy pink icing was a Pioneer Woman recipe for cream cheese frosting, which I added just a bit of red food coloring to to make it that perfect shade of pastel pink. Let me tell you, that icing was DELICIOUS. I just love Pioneer Woman. The cake topper was super simple to make; I just printed out a little bunting from The Paper Trail Company, cut out the little gold pieces I wanted, and wrote letters on each one with a fine-tip marker to spell my daughter’s name. Then I glued them closed, onto a strand of white embroidery thread, and tied that to two cake pop sticks, poked them into the cake, and voila! I also added one single gold candle in the middle and sprinkled some pearl candies over the top. For the “smash cake” I just left some cake batter out while making the big cake and baked a cupcake for Eden to eat. I spooned the icing on kinda sloppily, sprinkled a few pearl candies, and poked a candle in the center. She didn’t feel 100% the day of her party so I didn’t take her smash cake pictures till a few days later when she could thoroughly enjoy it.

THE BACKDROP

img_0067

img_0080
This was super simple and kind of not thought through very much until I ran across a hot pink, light pink, and gold banner kit in the Valentine’s Day section of Walmart. It could be made up to 6 feet long, and I made it just a bit shorter than that. I hung it on the wall behind where the highchair would be and at just the right height, and then I got out my light pink and white streamers (also from Walmart) and started that tedious job. I started in the middle of the banner and taped one end of the streamer just behind that, and ran it down the wall to the length I wanted, then twisted it to get the spiral, and cut and taped the other end to the bottom of the wall.

THE FOOD AND DRINKS

img_0082

img_0084

img_0085

The food was so much fun to do, and my mom helped me a ton with this part. I knew I wanted pink finger foods to go with the theme, so we opted for dipped pretzels and sugar wafers, homemade energy balls with pink M&Ms, plus the pink cake and cupcakes. I made a big batch of chili in the slow cooker and my husband made four FANTASTIC pizzas. My grandparents surprised us by bringing deviled eggs and chicken wings and some pink coconut-covered snack cakes, so we were not lacking in food for everyone, that’s for sure! For drinks, I made pink lemonade and pink punch (recipe to come!), plus coffee– which is not pink, but absolutely a necessary for our bunch.
…And that’s how we did Eden Lily’s first birthday party! How did you celebrate your child(ren)’s first birthday(s)? Did you have a theme or color scheme? Did you go all out or keep it simple? I’d love to hear your experiences!

For all of the awesome sources I got some of my ideas from, follow my Birthday Girl board on Pinterest here!

~Courtney Faith

2 thoughts on “Pink and Gold First Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

