Be There

   

   

This day and age we all have smart phones, or some type of cool camera that we’ve got on hand 24/7. We’re practically attached to our electronic devices, virtually glued to a screen.

I go to the park, to the library, to the grocery store, even, and see moms on their phones while their kids are playing, talking, laughing. A lot of times the mom is on her phone because she’s taking a picture or video of her lovely kids.

I get it. I’ve been there. I’m there a lot. Now that I’m a mom myself I love snapping photos of every little milestone or cute face or fun activity I don’t want to ever forget. I find myself taking a dozen or more pictures a day sometimes, and several videos frequently.

But as I watch others doing it too, it strikes me– are my efforts to capture precious moments on my camera actually robbing me from truly soaking up the moment to treasure in my heart forever? Am I really spending those wonderful moments with my daughter, or am I simply her paparazzi and videographer?

Even if I remember every moment I snap a picture of, will she remember? Or will she only remember her childhood filled with Mommy’s face hidden behind an electronic device?

  
I’m not trying to say that we should quit taking pictures or videos. No, I’m all for saving those sweet moments of our growing children. I’m just saying (to myself!) that maybe I should make less pictures and more memories. Maybe I should put down the phone and camera and pick up my baby. Maybe I should use my fingers more for tickling and playing than for typing about all my kid’s sweet and silly antics to post on Facebook or Instgram.

None of these things is wrong, but I want to try to use my screens in moderation, and love and play and make memories with my daughter in liberation. You’ll still see me holding my camera, not able to resist the urge to capture a memory with film (or whatever it’s technically called these days), but I want to take more of those chances to witness the whole scene with my own eyes, uninterrupted by an electronic device.

  
I don’t want to just witness and record my baby’s growing up– I want to be there when she does.

~Courtney Faith

3 thoughts on “Be There

Leave a Reply

