Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie

  
Good morning! I hope you’re having a great 2017 so far! It’s finally turned Winter here in Alabama and we even got some snow flurries yesterday. 

My big resolution for 2017 is to live a healthier lifestyle. That means eating healthy foods, doing healthy activities, using healthy products, and having a healthy attitude on life in general. 

So to start it all off on the right foot, I decided to go gluten- and sugar-free for the whole month of January. I needed to cut back on sugar anyway, especially after the holidays, and I’ve always wanted to try cutting out gluten. I figured if I made myself a goal of one month, it wouldn’t seem so overwhelming starting out, and by February I will be able to tell if it made any difference in how I felt compared to my regular diet before, and then decide if I want to continue or not with the no-gluten-no-sugar diet. 

So. I’m on Day 7 and am already seeing a difference. I feel I have so much more energy, am not craving bread so much (which was my favorite), and have lost two or three pounds already. On Day 2 all I could think about was chocolate, but I didn’t give in, and it’s gotten easier to say ‘no’ since then. (Also, my almost 11 month-old is sleeping better, which I’m wondering may have something to do with the diet change. Or it’s just coincidence.)

But enough of my babbling– I have a yummy smoothie recipe to share with you today! I made it for breakfast this morning and it was delicious. 

Here’s what you’ll need

  • 1 handful frozen strawberries
  • 1 heaping to 2 tablespoons stevia powde
  • 1-2 teaspoons cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon apple or orange juice concentrate (optional
  • 1 dash vanilla (optional)
  • Ice (fill up blender the rest of the way)

Blend well, and you’re done! This makes 1 serving. 

And that’s it! Enjoy!

~Courtney Faith

Leave a Reply

