Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

I confess I’ve never been a huge chocolate chip cookie fan (I know, so un-American of me!), UNLESS they’re super soft and chewy (or if they’re my Mawmaw’s–of course–and I’ve got a glass of fresh cow’s milk). I don’t know why, but the way they usually harden just never has appealed to me. My favorite has always been peanut butter cookies, but y’all, I recently came across a recipe for amazing SOFT, CHEWY chocolate chip cookies, AND one of the ingredients is peanut butter! I’ve made them two or three times now and each time they’ve turned out perfectly Chips Ahoy-ish!

So, if you’re looking for a soft ‘n’ chewy cookie, stop your searching. I’ve got it right here for you.

What you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal (I’m a fan of the quick oats, for a bit finer texture)
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together first 5 ingredients. Beat till creamy. Stir in dry ingredients and add chocolate chips last. *Roll into 1″ balls and bake on well-greased pan for 10-12 minutes. Makes about 2 dozen.

And it’s as simple as that! Now all you need is a glass of cold milk and these delicious cookies will just melt in your mouth. Enjoy!

*Just a neat idea you might like to try: For my husband’s birthday this year, I used this recipe to make him a cookie “cake,” and it turned out great!

~Courtney

One thought on “Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

