Homemade Taco Seasoning

Hello, friends! I hope you’re having a wonderful day!

Today I’d like to share with you a recipe for making your own taco seasoning! It tastes just as good or better than the pre-packaged stuff, is better for you, and only takes a minute or two to whip up.

Mexican food is one of our favorite types of food. And because we eat it a lot, I have been buying a lot of taco seasoning. But recently, since starting THM, I got to looking at the ingredients in packaged taco seasoning mixture, and I discovered there are a few things I’d just rather not have in my food and really are completely unnecessary for taco seasoning, like sunflower seed oil, silicon dioxide (“anticaking agent”), “natural flavor” (um, NO THANK YOU!), whey, and soy flour and yellow corn flour.

So, I looked up several different ways to make my own taco seasoning at home without all the added stuff I would rather do without, and it’s actually so simple and I don’t know why I haven’t been making it all along! You most likely already have every single needed ingredient in your pantry right now.

Pre-mixed taco seasoning isn’t really expensive, but I’m sure making it yourself is even cheaper, and you can make as much as you want, whenever you want, and save it for whenever needed.

Here’s how to do it:

1 tablespoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional; depending on how hot you like it)

Mix these up and voila– about 3 tablespoons of taco seasoning! (And you know every single “natural flavor” in it!) I tripled this recipe for a bigger batch that would keep longer.

Serving size: 3 tablespoons + 1/3 cup water.

Enjoy!

~Courtney

Leave a Reply

