DIY Freezer Meal: Chili

12540009_1000411013314795_2087751333_n

Good morning, everyone!

I apologize for not checking in and posting anything lately (in, like, a MONTH, actually). Life has gotten really busy and our little baby is due to come verrry soon!

So, what have I been doing? Well, besides dreaming of holding that precious bundle of joy in the near future, I’ve been cleaning, organizing crazy little things, getting the baby room ready, running a few last errands here and there, going to prenatal check-ups, and lots of cooking! Every now and again I get a nap or sleep more than three hours at a time in the night. Other than that, I’ve done absolutely nothing at all (he he).

But I’m super excited about all the cooking I’ve done recently: freezer meals made ahead of time for after the baby gets here! I’m a huge procrastinator, so this was kind of a BIG DEAL for me, because I actually DID IT!

Here is one of the really delicious meals that I put up. A friend of mine sent me a bunch of her favorite freezer meal recipes and this was one of them (and smelled SO GOOD). My hubby and I ate some of it for supper that night, it was so irresistible (and I’d run out of energy by suppertime to cook anything else).

You will need:

1 package chili seasoning
2 cloves garlic
1 can pinto beans
1 can black beans
1 can corn
2 bell peppers
2 stalks celery
1 onion
2 (4 ounce) cans green chiles (optional)
3 (28 ounce) cans tomatoes
1 1/2 pounds ground beef or turkey

Brown meat in skillet, then add cooked meat and all other ingredients to large pot. Cook until warm. Freeze flat in bags. Makes 4-5 quart-sized bags.

And that’s ALL there is to it! Heat it up in a saucepan or crock-pot when you’re ready to have it.

~Courtney

Leave a Reply

