How to Freeze Your Own Bananas for Smoothies

  

I love bananas and I love smoothies and I also love saving money.

I recently went to Aldi to do my weekly grocery shopping and found that their bananas were down to 34 cents a pound, and they were looking fantastic! Of course, I bought a huge bunch of them. (Now I’m kicking myself for not buying more. I’ll be surprised if they’re still down on the price by this time.)

I’ve never done much fruit freezing, but it’s not all that difficult and so I plan to start doing it much more often. Bananas are one of my favorite kind of fruit, and I tend to buy them a lot to snack on. But they’re such sensitive little things, it’s easy to not eat one today and tomorrow they’re pretty much ruined! And by that time it’s either throw them away or make banana bread (here are my recipes for banana nut and banana oat bread).

Buuuut… there’s one thing you can do before they go bad and you can still put them to good use!

Since Pinterest has just about everything you can think of on it, I pretty much use it as my Google search. I knew freezing bananas was going to be easy as pie, but I wanted to see how other people were doing it, you know, in case I was having a moment and forgetting the most important part. Turns out, I was just fine.

So, how do you do it? Like I said, it’s easy. Here are the steps:

  1. Get your spotty or definitely ripe bananas (no green should be on them).
  2. Peel.
  3. Chop into 1″ pieces or leave whole.
  4. Store in air-tight container or freezer bag.
  5. Freeze.

And that’s all there is to it! Now you have cheap, ready-when-you-are frozen fruit for you smoothies. Here is one of my favorite recipes you could try out: Banana-Cocoa-Thieves Smoothie

Enjoy!
~Courtney

Leave a Reply

