Tasty Tuesday: Butterfinger Cake



August 25th was my sweet hubby’s birthday, the second one we’ve spent together as husband and wife. Last year I made him a yellow cake with peanut butter icing (you can get the recipe for it HERE), and this year I asked him what is his most favorite kind of cake. He said Butterfinger (yay!), so I got the ingredients and whipped it up for the birthday boy when I got home from work that day. I’ve only made it once before and had someone there to tell me how to do it, so this time I was on my own, but thankfully with the help of Pinterest.

I found several variations of the recipe online, so I just chose one that was like the one I’d had before. There isn’t a whole lot to it, and the only thing you have to bake is the cake (and as long as you don’t burn that, you’re set).

What you’ll need:

  • 1 German chocolate cake mix
  • 8 ounces caramel ice cream topping (My jar of sauce was 12 ounces and I used pretty much all of it. More caramel than called for never hurt anybody.)
  • Chocolate syrup (You won’t need much.)
  • 1 can (14 ounces) sweetened condensed milk
  • Butterfingers (about 6 bars), crushed
  • Whipped cream (I bought it this time but if you’d like to make it yourself, I have the recipe for it HERE.)

First, bake your cake like the directions on the box tell you to.

When the cake is done and still warm, poke holes into it (yes, it will look like you’re ruining a masterpiece, but don’t worry) with a chopstick or something. Now pour all that yummy sweetened condensed milk over the cake. Spread well and evenly with spoon; lick spoon. Add most of the caramel sauce on top of all that (save some to drizzle on top later); lick spoon after spreading evenly over cake. Sprinkle some of the crushed Butterfingers on top of that. Now let the cake cool and the syrups seep in.

Once cake is cooled enough to add whipped cream without melting it, dump that fluffy white yumminess on top. Now the fun part. Drizzle chocolate syrup, leftover caramel sauce, and the rest of the Butterfingers on top.

Ta-da! You now have a delicious, calerie-infested, finger-lickin’-good dessert. Eat now, or let it chill for a while (if you have that much self-control– we just waited ’til after supper). Enjoy! (It’s great with a glass of milk.)

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Butterfinger Cake

Leave a Reply

