DIY: Natural Hair Conditioner

  
I always used to condition my hair after shampooing. It made my hair softer, smoother, easier to brush, and it also added to the sweet and girly smell I wanted my hair to have. But a few years ago I started noticing how quickly my head would get oily after using conditioner. My head already gets oily more quickly than some people, so this added oiliness was not what I wanted, because I had to wash my hair even more often than I would if I weren’t using conditioner. So, there for a while, I just stopped conditioning after shampooing, which was fine, but I didn’t have that silky feeling anymore that I wanted my hair to have.

Some friends of mine had mentioned using vinegar on their hair instead of conditioner, and so I decided to give it a try. The smell of white vinegar does not bother me, so having my head smell like it for just a little while was fine with me.

There are two ways you can do it, and I’ve done both.

  • One, you can pour the vinegar into your hair just after shampooing and then rinse it right out before getting out of the shower (you may want to do it this way if you can’t stand the smell of vinegar for very long).
  • Or two, you can pour the vinegar into your hair and ring your hair out just enough to where the vinegar’s not dripping all over the place (or into your eyes–OUCH!). Once you do this, get out of the shower and immediately put a towel on your head to avoid any drippings burning your eyes, and just let your hair dry that way. This is the way I do it, and it seems to make my hair softer and smoother by leaving the vinegar in longer to soak in.

It works great either way, and I absolutely LOVED the results. It left my hair feeling smooth, soft, and shiny. And the BEST part? It did NOT leave my hair looking oily after only a few hours!

If you want to try it yourself, all you’ll need is about ½ cup white (or apple cider) vinegar. Pour it into a cup and set inside the shower so you can get to it easily after washing your hair. And if you want to add some extra goodness to it, I suggest putting a few drops of essential oil in it (lavender, geranium, ylang-ylang, or rosemary would be great for your hair).

I hope you enjoy this quick-and-easy conditioning treatment! It only takes a minute to make, and it will save you tons of money if you’ve been spending a lot on store-bought conditioners.

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

Leave a Reply

