DIY: Liquid Laundry Detergent

IMG_0565

Hey, everybody! I hope you’re enjoying your week. The past few days have been absolutely beautiful outside! I guess it was our little preview for Fall. I’m sooo ready for cooler days, crisp breezes, and crinkling leaves on the ground.

Today’s recipe is just like my laundry detergent I posted the instructions to at the end of last year, except this one is liquid. I love liquid detergents– they’re easy to handle and pour, and, if you’re like me, they don’t make you sneeze like the powdered ones do! Both are great, though, and I highly recommend making your own laundry detergent. You will save lots of money you would be spending otherwise on store-bought, ready-made detergents (which, I might add, are–mostly–filled with not-so-good-for-you chemicals)!

Here’s how to make the liquid laundry detergent:

  • Borax
  • Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
  • Bar soap (Zote, Ivory, Felsnaptha)
  • Essential oil, optional (I switch every so often between lemon and lavender. They smell great and lemon is a wonderful all-purpose cleaner)

Grate bar soap in pot; add 4 cups water; cook on low until dissolved. Add 1 cup Borax and 1 cup washing soda; stir until dissolved. Fill five 1-gallon containers equally, then fill rest of the way with water. Let thicken overnight.

*Use 1/4 cup per load.*

Enjoy!

~Courtney

2 thoughts on “DIY: Liquid Laundry Detergent

Leave a Reply

