Oh, Baby! | Second Trimester Update

Some amazing things have happened over the past few weeks. We recently had our first ultrasound of Baby Haynes and got to see that sweet face and those precious little hands and feet! I thought hearing the heartbeat was amazing, which it is, but this? This was the best thing I’ve ever experienced. We now have little black and white pictures of our sweet child.


I’m finally now feeling those sweet little flutters and nudges from the baby, and that just makes me smile from ear to ear! At night when I’m lying real still in bed is when I feel it the most, and it is so wonderful knowing that that is our little baby in there moving around, growing up to be big enough to enter into this world one day soon. I look forward to when the movements are stronger and my husband gets to experience these little nudges as well.

I’m 19½ weeks along today, and it doesn’t seem like we can already be nearly halfway through. I know the next months will consist of a lot of changes and growth (for both Baby and me) and that excites me. (Pretty much everything excites me lately.)

Baby Haynes is now about the size of an heirloom tomato and weighs close to 9 ounces, is around 6 inches long (head to rump), and he or she can probably hear my voice now. (AWWWWWW!)
As far as cravings and morning sickness go, since about the 10th week I haven’t even been queasy except for a few days when I had a head cold, and I am not really craving anything specific lately. I’ve started drinking a little bit of coffee some mornings, just enough to get that amazing taste and to boost my energy at the start of my busy day. Sleep would be nice to have, but weird dreams keep me tossing and turning at night and then we’re up with the sun every morning and going at it all day ’til sometimes late at night. (But hey, there’s always the weekend to get an extra couple hours of sleep time, right? Sometimes.)

I mentioned earlier that we had an ultrasound. We thought we’d be able to find out the gender of our baby, but they could only give us a good guess, so… yep, we’re going back for another look. I guess stubbornness runs in the family. Hehe.

I’m so thankful for my herbs! Every day I’m taking my prenatal vitamins, DHA, Young Living Ninxia Red (which is AMAZING for energy!), and a couple other things. Some days it feels like a handful of pills and a glass of water is my breakfast, but throw in a smoothie or a bowl of cereal and I’m set.

Well, I guess that’s it for now. All that rambling, but to put it frankly: we’re super happy for this child and so thankful God chose us to be the parents. I pray that all goes smoothly and that we have a healthy baby, whether boy or girl (because the gender doesn’t matter one bit). If you’ve read this far, then WOW. Thanks for taking the time to peek a little into our journey with this precious new growing addition to our family!


“Great are the works of the LORD; they are studied by all who delight in them. Splendid and majestic is His work, and His righteousness endures forever.” (Psalm 111:2-3 NASB)

Until next time,

Courtney

2 thoughts on “Oh, Baby! | Second Trimester Update

Leave a Reply

