Tasty Tuesday: Homemade Hardee’s Biscuits

  

  

Good morning! I hope your Tuesday’s going well!

Today I’d like to share with you another from-scratch biscuit recipe that I recently tried out. I love testing out new biscuit recipes and these turned out nice and moist and fluffy. The recipe I found said they were like the biscuits Hardee’s makes, and although it’s been a super long time since I’ve had their biscuits and gravy since I don’t eat fast food hardly EVER (unless it’s a salad from Chick-Fil-A, but does that count?), but I do remember them having some pretty mean fluffy biscuits.

So. Enough of my babbling, and here’s the easy recipe:

  • 4 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar (This totally messed me up, ’cause sugar ought to be saved for the tea, but I tried this anyway, so as to follow the recipe… It was good, and I believe the slight sweet taste is what makes these taste more like Hardee’s biscuits.)
  • 2/3 cups shortening (I NEVER use shortening–it’s BAAAAD for you–so I instead used cold butter.)
  • 2 cups butter milk (I don’t buy butter milk because it would go to waste, so I always do 1 part sour cream + 1 part water and that does the trick.)

Mix ingredients together just enough that they are thoroughly combined, but do not knead (at least very much). Roll dough about 3/4-1″ thick out onto floured counter or cutting board and cut (I used a wide-mouth canning jar). Place biscuits on baking sheet, iron skillet, or glass dish, and brush tops with butter milk (or sour cream + water mixture) and bake at 400° for 15 minutes, or until they start to brown on top.

There you go! I hope you enjoy!

TIP: If you have any leftover biscuits you don’t want to throw away, put them in a zip-lock bag and set them in the freezer to be heated up again one day for a quick breakfast.

Have a blessed day!

~Courtney

One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Homemade Hardee’s Biscuits

Leave a Reply

