Tasty Tuesday: Grandma’s Apple Goodie

Happy Tuesday!

image

Me and Grandma, February 1994

Today I want to share with you a very special recipe. My great-grandmother, Agatha Persall, was a wonderful cook. My parents and grandparents brag often about her amazing food. Though she passed away not long after I was born and I can’t remember her, I’m very lucky to know so much about her and to have some of her recipes passed down. This week she would have been 104 years old! I recently got copies of some of her recipes from my aunt and am so excited to start making these meals and desserts in my own kitchen!

This one, apple goodie, is a favorite in my family.

Here’s how to make it:

2 cups sliced apples
½ cup sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Mix and place in a greased baking dish.

Topping:

½ cup melted butter
¾ cup brown sugar
¾ cup oatmeal
¾ cup flour

Cover apple mixture and brown in moderate oven.

A relative of mine, Reba Ponder Weiss, recently published a cookbook full of many of our family’s recipes. Grandma’s apple goodie is in it, along with many other family favorites. You can check it out on Amazon here!

image

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

Leave a Reply

