DIY: Painted Mason Jars

image

This past weekend was really great– we had warm sunshine, Hubby and I went hiking, shopping, and bike riding, and I got crafty with house decorating.

image

One evening last week I was looking through some recipe magazines and a photo of a table setting caught my eye. The centerpiece was made up of lots and lots of red and white flowers in white Mason jars. A little side note said they had just spray-painted the outside of the jars. And so, “Light-bulb!” I got to brainstorming what I could do with something like that. I have lots of empty canning jars just sitting in my cabinets, needing to be put to use. For my wedding we used a lot of rustic-type decorations–burlap, lace, jars, etc.–and this style is something I’ve also decorated some of our home in.

So. Back to the point. I went grocery shopping after work on Friday and grabbed me some flat white spray paint. The next morning, the sun was shining, it was about 70°, and I got four jars to start with and went out on our porch and began spraying those babies down. It didn’t take long for then to dry, and when they were, I brought them back in the house to fix up.

One of them was just a simple jar with no brand design on it, so I put a chalkboard sticker on the side to “cutesy” it up. Now, isn’t that darlin’?

image

This one is my favorite because by looking at the design of the brand name, we see that it is from the 1933-1962 series. Big range of years, I know, but this one is at least 53 years old. It may have been one of my great-grandmother’s canning jars, but I’m not 100% sure. But it has held plenty of delicious homemade canned goods in the past.

image

This one is a 1960-present design.

image

And this one is a little pint Kerr. Cute, huh?

image

And here is the table setting! I love having something pretty on our dining room table. It’s like borrowing a little sunshine to cheer up the home.

image

image

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

7 thoughts on “DIY: Painted Mason Jars

  1. Love this, Courtney! I’ve been waiting all winter for the weather to warm so I can get my paint out- this looks like it may be the perfect first project of the year! Would also be really cute with glass soda bottles, like Izzy brand…

    Like

Leave a Reply

