Snow Day in Dixie

A week ago North Alabama got something really special, something that simply doesn’t happen very often: snow! Some areas even had up to 10 or 11 inches! To people up North that may not sound like a lot, but in the Heart of Dixie, that much snow is a BIG DEAL. I mean, whole counties just shut down. The only other time Walmart is ever empty besides on Iron Bowl day is when there’s a little bit of snow on the ground, and I’m not even kidding. But that’s AFTER we’ve gotten our stock pile of bread and milk. I’ve never in my life seen Huntsville so slow-paced and quiet until last week’s wintry weather stopped it short. I had two days off work and Hubby only worked half a day the first day, so you know what we did? Yep, we played in the snow! Before it all started I was like a kid on Christmas, just waiting for it to begin! Here are a few black-and-whites from our magical wintry day. image

I’m not sure exactly how much snow we got, but this is a picture of my boot and how far it sunk down in it. I would say we got close to seven inches, if not more.

image

This is me with, sporting my hubby’s Bama sweatshirt and my matching red work boots (which you can’t tell, if course, because this is a black and white picture).

image

Our neighbor’s got a sweet pickup and it just looked so picture-perfect covered in all that snow.

image

Five little evergreens all in a row. So pretty!

image

Hubby and Mr. Snowman.

image

Our first snow day together!

image

Every time it snows, I take a picture of my favorite boots. And also any other day I just feel the need to snap a shot of them.

image

Me, wearing my new hat I had just finished crocheting the day before.

image

By now it was getting dark, and the street lights really made the snow glow. *Starts singing, “The snow glows white on the mount tonight; not a footprint to be seen…” Oh, dear. Now it’s in my head. Let it gooo, let it gooooooo…*

image

Here’s my car, buried in all that.

image

The view from our porch.

image

When we finally came back inside that evening, we made a big batch of snow cream! Get the recipe for it here.

image

Hubby fixed us a fire and played the guitar.

image

We eventually thawed out.

I hope you’re having a great week! Stay warm!

~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

Leave a Reply

