Tasty Tuesday: Pretzel Twists

wpid-received_594774850654945.jpeg

Happy Tuesday! I hope you’ve all had a great weekend and start to the new week.

Today I’d like to share with you a recipe I just recently tried for the first time. My husband and I have been craving pretzels lately. You know, those big, fluffy, golden brown, super salty ones you get at the mall? Yeah, those! He took me out for my birthday, which was two weeks ago this past Saturday, and we caved in and bought some delicious pretzels when we went to the mall. I had already found a recipe I’d been wanting to try, but we didn’t get around to making them until Valentine’s Day. They turned out to be super easy and very yummy!

You’ll need about 2 hours to make these babies. Here’s the recipe!

1 1/2 cups warm water
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons salt
1 (1/4-ounce) package active dry yeast
4 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
4 tablespoons butter, melted
Vegetable or olive oil
10 cups water
2/3 cup baking soda
1 large egg yolk beaten with 1 tablespoon water

If you have a stand up mixer, great. You’ll want to use that to mix your dough. I don’t have one, but I did use my Ninja blender on its “dough” setting. That works perfectly as well. 

First, combine water, sugar, and salt in a small bowl or in your mixer. Sprinkle yeast on top and then let it set for five minutes or until it gets foamy-looking.

In whatever mixer you’re using, now combine flour and butter with your yeast mixture. Knead until dough is smooth and starts to pull away from the bowl, 4-5 minutes.

Remove dough from bowl and now clean and cover inside of bowl with oil. Put dough back in bowl. (Pretty easy so far, huh?) Cover with plastic wrap and let rise for 1 hour or until it doubles in size.

Preheat oven to 450° and make sure your oven racks are in the middle slots.

Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Stir together 10 cups of water and 2/3 cups baking soda in an 8-quart pot and bring to rolling boil.

While the water comes to a boil, put your dough onto your work surface and divide into 10-12 pieces. (Don’t flour your work surface; you shouldn’t need that.)

Roll out each piece to about an 18″ rope. (If you ever played with play-dough as a kid–or as an adult–you should be able to do this, easy-peasy.) Now, what I did with this rope is fold it in half and twist. If you can do this twice, like the recipe I found said to do, then great. But apparently I was never a professional rope twister in my play-dough days, so I only folded and twisted my pretzels once. 

Now, for the next part. Once you’ve conquered your “play-dough” you’re ready for the following step: Place the twists in the boiling water for 30 seconds each. Return them to the pan and then coat with your yolk/water mixture. Don’t forget the salt!

Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until golden brown. Let cool just a bit, and then they’re ready to be devoured!

Enjoy! We sure did.

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

Leave a Reply

