2015: Word for the New Year

image

It’s 2015 already? Wheeeeere did last year go? 365 days seems like such a long time yet it flies right past us in the blink of an eye.

Last year was a big year. Just a little over one month in, I left my teenage years behind and began “adulthood,” according to some. In May, the wonderful man I now call my husband proposed to me. Two months after that, we were married and living in an apartment in a new city. He started school at a new college and I started a new job.

I learned a lot in 2014. I experienced surprise, stress, cluelessness, and pure joy. Everything I went through taught me something valuable: God is in control, He is with me through good days and bad, and I never, ever have to worry about a single thing, ever.

A friend of mine texted me last week before last and told me she was choosing a word for the new year, something that will remind her why she’s here, who she’s living for, and that will motivate her to keep growing every day. When she asked what my word would be, I had to really think about it. A few days later I decided on the Greek word “eucharisteo,” which means to give thanks. Giving thanks has been something I worked hard on last year, but I know I still have a long way to go, so I’m going to focus specifically this year on being thankful every day, no matter how my day is going.

Eucharisteo is a very interesting word, because not only does it have the one meaning, but if you break it down some, you see two other words inside: charis, which means grace, and chara, which means joy.

In giving thanks, we recognizing God’s wonderful grace He has given to us, and that fills us with joy.

Eucharisteo.

I want to have eucharisteo every moment of every day, but that means full-time commitment on my part. I must strive for it. I must appreciate God’s grace, and only then will I know real joy.

What’s your word for 2015?

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

2 thoughts on “2015: Word for the New Year

  1. Pingback: In Everything Give Thanks | He's Still Workin' on Me

Leave a Reply

