DIY: Laundry Detergent

Hey, y’all! I hope you had a great Christmas and New Year holiday! It was super duper busy for me and my husband and we had a blast traveling and spending time with our families, but it’s great to be back home and into the regular routine of things!

I promised on my Facebook page last week to get started with writing and posting again, so here we go.

Today’s post is another easy do-it-yourself project, the recipe for powdered laundry detergent.

I first made this with my mom a few years ago, again at a girls’ camp in a home-ec/home maintenance class, and then when I got married and started getting low on my store-bought washing powder I decided to start making my own in order to save money and use less chemicals.

All you need are three ingredients, something to put them in (I used a rolled oats cardboard container), and about five minutes.

•2 parts Borax
•2 parts washing soda
•1 part grated bar soap

These three things are usually sitting together on a shelf at Walmart because the homemade detergent is getting more common, so the washing soda shouldn’t be hard to find. I had to go to the store twice before they had restocked this stuff, but maybe you’ll have better luck.

Once you’ve got your soap grated and your powders measured out, shake it up in your closed container until it looks evenly mixed. (You can add essential oils to it too, if you want! Just don’t forget to shake it up again if you do.)

There you have it! ¼ cup is enough for a normal load of laundry, so it should last you a good while. I used a 16-oz. sour cream container to measure my soap and powders, and an oatmeal box held it perfectly. The detergent lasted me and my husband exactly two months and I just made another batch at the beginning of the year.

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

One thought on “DIY: Laundry Detergent

  1. Pingback: DIY: Liquid Laundry Detergent | He's Still Workin' on Me

Leave a Reply

