DIY: Essential Oil Fabric Softener & Dryer Sheets

image

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but life just gets busier and busier and I can barely keep my head on straight sometimes! But I’ll try to post more things more often from now on.

I recently made some washing powder (which I will share the recipe for next– and soon!), and so the other day I decided I’d also like to make some fabric softener and dryer sheets. I did not realize how simple they were to make! WHY I ever bought the stuff from the store when it was this easy and inexpensive, I do not know. But you live and you learn, I guess. And another thing, these that I’m sharing today are chemical-free, AND you can use your amazing essential oils in them too (which is quite exciting)! So, here you go:

Fabric Softener

•Jar with lid
•2 cups distilled white vinegar
•10-12 drops essential oil of choice

Combine vinegar and essential oil (I used lavender), and store in a glass jar. 1/4 cup is enough to make 1 load of laundry soft and fresh!

Dryer Sheets

•1/2 cup vinegar
•8 drops essential oil
•Sealable container (glass jar and lid work great)
•Cotton cloths

In a bowl, pour vinegar and add essential oil (I used lavender, but any scent you want will work). Cut your strips of fabric (I had some leftover fabric scraps from an old sewing project, but dish cloths cut into small squares will do too). Now pour your oil and vinegar mixture over your cloths (or dip the cloths) so that they’re damp but not dripping wet. Store your homemade dryer sheets in a closed container and you’re ready to do the laundry!

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

6 thoughts on “DIY: Essential Oil Fabric Softener & Dryer Sheets

  1. Pingback: DIY: Fabric Softener | He's Still Workin' on Me

Leave a Reply

