DIY: Reusable T-Shirt Bag

If you’re like me, you’ve got nearly a dresser full of old T-shirts you never wear anymore, but you don’t want to throw away. All they’re doing is taking up space in the dresser or closet, not doing a bit of good.

The other day I saw a DIY project that was just the answer I needed: an easy-peasy tutorial for reusable bags made out of a T-shirt. And get this–there’s no sewing involved, so I don’t even have to annoy my downstairs neighbor with the loud racket of my sewing machine!

I do most of my shopping at Aldi, so these bags will really come in handy when I need to carry my groceries back home. They’re also great for yarn–I keep one filled with my knitting supplies so I can easily take them with me when I travel.

image

Here’s all you have to do to make one yourself:
image

First, choose the shirt you’d like to use, grab a pair of scissors, and a pen or pencil.
image

Now cut off the sleeves and around the neckline (as deep as you want).
image

This step after this will be easier if you turn it inside-out, so go ahead an do that now. Then cut slits about 3/4-inch wide and maybe 2-3-inches long, depending on how deep you want your bag to be. The top of these strips will be the bottom of your bag, so be mindful of how much needs to be cut.
image

Now, knot the strips together. There really is no certain way to do this; just tie the strips enough so that you have no holes left in the bottom of your bag once you’re through.
image

Turn your former shirt right-side-out again, and there you have it: a new-and-improved T-shirt multi-purpose bag!

p.s. If you like the knotted tassel look, you can just leave your shirt right-side-out the whole time and do the knots on the outside, like this tie-dyed one here:

image

Have fun!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

One thought on “DIY: Reusable T-Shirt Bag

Leave a Reply

