I Have Found Such Joy

image

I have found such joy in simple things;
A plain clean room, a nut-brown loaf of bread,
A cup of milk, a kettle as it sings,
The shelter of a roof above my head,
And in a leaf-laced square along a floor,
Where yellow sunlight glimmers through a door.

I have found such joy in things that fill
My quiet days; a curtain’s blowing grace,
A potted plant upon my window sill,
A rose fresh-cut and placed within a vase,
A table cleared, a lamp beside a chair,
And books I long have loved beside me there.

“I Have Found Such Joy” by Grace Noll Crowell

Do we ever stop to see and find “such joy” in things as simple as these? A simple plain clean room, or a shelf of worn cherished books, or a single rose in a vase–these are little things that may seem insignificant in the big scheme of life, but if we look closely, we can see the grand beauty of it all. “God-gifts,” we might call them, are everywhere, if only we give the moment a glance in order that we might see them.

“…I’ll tell you a trick that’s sometimes a big help. When you start lookin’ around for something good to take the place of the bad, as a general rule you can find it.” -Jim Coates (“Pa” on “Old Yeller”)

“Be thankful in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” (1 Thessalonians 5:18, ESV)

Have a blessed Thanksgiving!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

Leave a Reply

