A Week of Thanksgiving, Day 2: Apple Custard Pie

Aunt Bee: Remember, first you eat the sandwiches and then you eat the apple pie. Not the apple pie and then the sandwiches. Do you understand?
Opie: Yeah, I understand, even if it don’t seem right.
Aunt Bee: Why doesn’t it seem right?
Opie: Well, if you get full before you finish, I’d sure rather leave over the sandwich than the pie.
Aunt Bee: I know, and that’s exactly why I want you to do it the other way, and don’t you forget it.
Opie: Okay, Aunt Bee. Can I have my nickel for milk?
Aunt Bee: Uh-huh. Now remember this is for milk, not another piece of apple pie. You need that milk to make your bones hard.
Aunt Bee: (To Andy) That boy, I declare he’s got the sweetest tooth I ever saw. You know if he had his way, what he’d want for lunch? Two slices of apple pie between two pieces of apple pie and a slab of apple pie for dessert.
Andy: Now that’s not surprising, Aunt Bee, considering the green thumb you’ve got for apple pies.
Aunt Bee: Nonsense. He’s just apple pie crazy.

1911672_801541096535122_5157256451167460669_n

I recently hosted my first “real” supper at our new home with several of my friends. We had a Thanksgiving style dinner, complete with chicken dressing and cranberry sauce, sweet ‘tater casserole, deviled eggs, rolls, cider, and plenty more. The young ladies did a wonderful job with their homemade foods, and it was a very enjoyable evening.

That morning I had rolled out the dough for a pie crust, planning to make an apple pie for dessert that evening. Well, long story short, the recipe I had used for a bottom and top crust was apparently a deceitful one, and I only had enough dough for the bottom. I didn’t know what I was going to do, because who makes apple pies with no top crust? So I began digging through my handy-dandy cookbook (AKA Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book) for another pie I could make with the ingredients I had in my pantry, and I ran across an apple custard pie recipe that I’d never tried, and it didn’t require a top crust so I decided to give it a go.

Turns out it’s super easy, tastes wonderful, and I think I’m hooked on this recipe from now on when it comes to making apple pie.

Here’s how to do it:

Pare, core, and cut 6 to 8 tart apples in eighths (6 cups). Arrange in 9-inch unbaked pastry shell. Combine 3/4 cup sugar, 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, and 1/2 teaspoon salt in small bowl. Stir in 1/4 cup light cream or half-and-half. Pour mixture over apples. Sprinkle with ground cinnamon. Cover loosely with foil and bake at 375 degrees for 1 hour. Remove foil; bake 15 minutes or till apples are done. Serve warm.

And that’s all there is to it. Bon apetit!

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

3 thoughts on “A Week of Thanksgiving, Day 2: Apple Custard Pie

Leave a Reply

