Blessed Be the Name of the LORD

“Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head, and he fell to the ground and worshiped. He said, ‘Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked I shall return there. The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away. Blessed be the name of the LORD.’ Through all this Job did not sin nor did he blame God.” (Job 1:20-22)

Job lost nearly everything that belonged to him, nearly everything he had ever cherished and loved. He had plenty of “reasons” to give up. He had plenty of “reasons” to curse God. He had plenty of “reasons” to just die.

But what did he do when the horrible news of his home and family came to him?

“He fell to the ground and worshiped.”

Job did not blame God. Job did not give up. Job may have wished he were dead, but he remained faithful to God, and “through all this Job did not sin” and never once cursed his LORD for the tragedy that had befallen him.

We hear people speak so often of “the patience of Job,” but it is his never faltering faithfulness to the Lord that amazes me the most. It encourages me to praise my Father even when trials come. It inspires me to trust Him, no matter what, because He will never leave me or forsake me, and I am His child.

I’ve seen some loved ones go through some tough times recently, and it just breaks my heart knowing they had to suffer such losses, but I know they love the Lord with all their hearts and these challenges can only make them stronger. Their faith in the Lord makes my faith in Him stronger, and come what may in this life, I just hope and pray that I am also able to fall to the ground and worship my Creator, saying, “Blessed be the name of the LORD!”

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

One thought on “Blessed Be the Name of the LORD

Leave a Reply

