She Shall Be Praised

Week before last both of my grandmothers celebrated their birthdays, just a day apart, and I got to thinking about just how blessed I am to have these two wonderful women in my life.

My mother’s mother is Esther, and her name means “star.” This is very fitting because I have always thought that she is one of the most beautiful women I have ever known, because her beauty is not only physical but comes straight from the heart, and anyone around her can see it so vividly. Everything she does shines bright with her goodness and love.

“Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever.” (Daniel 12:3 NLT)

My father’s mother is Vera. Her name means “true” and “faith,” and I believe this is appropriate because she is very faithful to God to her loved ones, and to herself. I’ve never known her to be selfish, even if others took advantage of her giving heart. She has so many talents, and enjoys finding new ways to use them and learn more.

“The one who had received the five talents came up and brought five more talents, saying, ‘Master, you have entrusted five talents to me. See, I have gained five more talents.’ His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful slave. You were faithful with a few things, I will put you in charge of many things; enter into the joy of your lord.’ “ (Matthew 25:20-21)

~

“Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may train the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind, being subject to their own husbands, so that the word of God will not be blasphemed.” (Titus 2:3-5)

Both of my grandmothers grew up farming and gardening and came from large families. They were taught to work hard at everything they did, and that you can do anything you set your mind to do, as long as it is honoring to the Lord. I honestly think they do not know what laziness feels like, because they have always kept busy in working and helping people and providing for their own. They can garden, they can cook like nobody’s business, they are wise, and they are simply a joy to be around. They love their Lord and their families more than anything, and I am very thankful for these two wonderful examples in my life who have taught me so many valuable things.

“Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, but a woman who reverences the LORD, she shall be praised. Give her the product of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates.” (Proverbs 31:30-31)

Who are some good examples you cherish in your own life?

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

One thought on “She Shall Be Praised

Leave a Reply

