Tasty Tuesday: Peanut Butter Birthday Cake

Monday was my husband’s birthday. We got up at six o’clock, ate breakfast, and he headed off to college and I went to hear Ken Ham speak at a seminar.

After spending some time with my mom and three of my siblings, I ran some errands and got home as quickly as possible that afternoon, because Cord would be on his way home soon, and I had a cake to bake!

I was a little anxious about how it might turn out, because I’d heard enough stories about new wives baking their first birthday cake or favorite dish for their husbands, only to end in a complete catastrophe (according to the wife) mainly because she was so nervous about it. But the main thing that worried me was my own specialty of messing things up anyway!

BUT I was determined to get this cake made just right, so I chose a simple, easy-to-follow recipe and got to work on it right away. After donning my “Mrs. Haynes” apron, I grabbed the yellow cake mix from the pantry, and followed the directions given on the back of the box (except this time I actually–for the first time ever–only used half of the mix, for our little family of two).

For the icing (and this is the FULL recipe, NOT half), boil 2 cups sugar, 1 stick of butter, and about 1/2 cup evaporated milk in a saucepan. Bring to a boil over medium to high heat, until it starts to look caramel-ey (and to keep it from scorching, don’t forget to stir!). Add 1 teaspoon vanilla, and remove from heat. (Your house will be smelling heavenly by now!) Stir in 3/4 cup peanut butter, and then pour icing over cake evenly and let it set (but only after you’ve, in a ladylike manner, of course, shoved a generous spoonful of it in your mouth while your hubby isn’t looking–just to make sure it isn’t… you know… deadly… or something).

Cord got home while the cake was still in the oven and the icing was boiling on the stove so I didn’t get to surprise him with the finished cake, but hey–it turned out with no mishaps and he liked it!

So, even though I only did a half recipe for us, it still made a good sized one-layer cake, and we still have plenty left over to munch on throughout the week.
image

The recipe I used is from my grandmother, and is called “Nana’s Peanut Butter Cake,” and let me tell you, when she makes this cake it just melts in your mouth. It’s that good.

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

“Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” (Psalm 51:10)

3 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday: Peanut Butter Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

