A Mother Like Mine

IMG_20140127_150748

“She’s the sky that holds the clouds
She’s the lady of the house
A blind believer in all I dare to be
There’s no safer place I’ve found than the shoulder of her white nightgown
Oh, I’ve got the best and the worst of her in me
And I’d share her if I could

So the wars would all be over
‘Cause she’d raise us all as friends
And no one would ever wonder if somebody wanted them
We’d walk on grass that’s greener
And our cares would all be freer
If the world had a mother like mine

She’s our father’s one great love
She’s the one he wanted most
She’s the light in the window of the house I grew up in
She takes the midnight call
She’s the bravest of us all
Still she sings in the garden she lets her hair down in

Oh, the wars would all be over
‘Cause she’d raise us all as friends
And no one would ever wonder if somebody wanted them
Tonight would be easier
And our dreams would all be deeper
If the world had a mother like mine

She’s the sky that holds the clouds
She’s the lady of our house
We all need her
But no one more than me”
(“A Mother Like Mine” by The Band Perry)

I recently got the newest album by The Band Perry, and I have fallen in love with this song, playing it over and over. The lyrics are so heartfelt, and every word seems to describe my own mother.

     So today I thought I’d write an article about mothers… about mine in particular. Like the song says, the world would be a much friendlier, laid back, happier place, if everyone had “a mother like mine.”

     So, what makes her so grand? What makes her so special?

     I can tell you why.

    • When I was younger and was too tired to walk to my own bed at night, she carried me to my room and tucked me in.
    • When I couldn’t sleep, she’d sing songs to me or read me bedtime stories until I finally drifted off to sleep.
    • When I fell off my bike and scraped my knees or stepped on a bumblebee and got stung, she would take me inside and bandage me up.
    • When I didn’t know the answer to something, she did.
    • Whenever I had doubts about myself and things I wanted to do, she believed in me.
    • When I was nervous about driving, work, graduation, or anything, she encouraged me.
    • When I was worried, she smiled and said everything was gonna be okay.

     She’s my biggest fan, my go-to for advice, my confidant, my coach, my best friend. God knew what He was doing when He gave her to me. Being the oldest child, I probably gave her a run for her money (and she sure was brave to have four more kiddos after experiencing me)! I know I wasn’t the easiest child to raise, or the sweetest little two year-old on the planet, but I’d have to say she and my dad did a pretty good job.

     Mama taught me so many things:

    • Put others first, no matter how bad you feel or how much you want to do something else.
    • Smile, even when you’re not happy.
    • Life is short, so laugh at even the silliest jokes.
    • When no one else is going to do it, you do it.
    • And something I’m still working on learning: being late for something is not the end of the world.

     My mom is the most selfless person I know, and I’m not just saying that. She is also the most beautiful woman, inside and out. No, she’s not perfect, but she tries so hard to be. She isn’t perfect–hey, no one is–but she’s perfect for me.

     I’m extremely thankful for my mother and who she is and all she has taught me and is teaching me, and I just thought you should know that. (And no, I wasn’t bribed into writing this, and no, I’m not trying to butter her up for anything. She’s just that cool.)

     Have a blessed day (and if you have a chance, give your mama a big hug today and let her know you appreciate her)!

~Courtney

One thought on “A Mother Like Mine

Leave a Reply

