Almost Not a Teenager Anymore

image

Tomorrow, February 7th 2014, marks the day I entered this world twenty years ago. (Yes, I said twenty. *Eep!*)

My friends and I feel this is pretty close to ancient, but I’ve been told by many recently that I’m still “just a babe.”

As I reflect on the past two decades, I realize even more just how blessed I’ve been. There have been some sad times, sure, but those moments were just like rain on a garden, and helped me to grow stronger. And the happy moments, they outweigh the sad ones by millions.

Since I obviously haven’t been on the earth as long as most folks, any advice coming from me isn’t worth a whole lot to them, but I will say a few things to the ones younger than me.

-Be happy as often as possible. There’s no use pouting about when you’ve got such a bright future ahead of you.
-But, speaking of the future, don’t get TOO caught up in the life ahead ahead of you. Be careful what you do now because it will have an impact on your life later on, but just be content in today. This day in this life needs to be lived. TODAY needs your focus. You’ll never ever get this day back, so enjoy and make the most of it.
-Don’t worry about how things will work out. God is in control, so don’t fret. Let Him handle it. He’s been taking care of humans for thousands of years. He knows exactly what He’s doing.
-LEARN how to do lots of cool things. It will make you unique and more useful (hopefully), and anything out of the ordinary makes for a great conversation starter.
-With that being said, YOU ARE unique. Don’t try to be like everyone else and DON’T be afraid to be different. The world needs more “different.”
-Have patience. What you think you need you may not need right NOW. God knows what you truly need even before you do, so just wait for His perfect timing in everything. You won’t regret it at all.
-Dream big. Set huge goals and work (hard) toward them. If your dreams don’t scare you a little bit, they’re probably not big enough. And remember: you’ll most likely regret more what you DIDN’T do than the things you DID, so take risks and embrace challenges; they can only make you stronger.

So, from the almost-not-a-teenager-anymore, simply enjoy being a kid (or “teenager,” if you prefer not to be called a “kid”). One day you won’t be a kid/teen anymore, so be a good one, and don’t be in a rush to grow up. It’ll happen way sooner than you expect. (*SPOILER ALERT* And I hear thirty comes even faster than twenty.)

“I’ve learned to stop rushing things that need time to grow.”

Have a blessed day!
~Courtney

Leave a Reply

